Boys’ Knits

There is a prevalent stereotype that boys hate hand knit jumpers.

Mega awful colours fair isle jumper

Mega cable bobbles in stiff scratchy yarn

Age inappropriate (too old for Dinos but too young for ironic appreciation)

Mega misshapen mess

Disclaimer: I have nothing against any of the interesting hand knits illustrated above. I love all hand knits and I’m actually tempted to write up a pattern for ‘Dino Cool’!

The garments in Katya’s new book Boys’ Knits could not be further from this negative stereotype. These are jumpers that your boys will love; simple, special, stylish designs.

The kind of designs that you want to knit and that your boys will want to wear: perfect!

My favourite is Denon – I love everything about it! It’s both simple and interesting, a definite must-knit for my son.

Also on my list is Ryker because I love vests on kids -the ultimate practical knit! It looks like such a fun and quick knit too!

Katya’s Boys’ Knits book has many qualities:

  • The ‘things to know’ section is written in an approachable way and is packed full of useful information.
  • The yarns are very well chosen.
  • All of the designs are knit seamlessly!
  • The photography is gorgeous; active, outdoor fun!

Also, perhaps most importantly, Katya has created designs that will challenge the perception of hand knits for boys. These jumpers will be gratefully received and quickly become favourites.  She may even inspire the next generation of male knitters!

You can buy the book in print or e-book format on Ravelry or the Cooperative Press site. Of course I recommend getting an extra copy for Granny, Uncle Jim, Aunt Sally and anyone else who knits for your boys!

To read more about the book see the blog tour dates below:

21 September – Kat Goldin of Slugs on the Refrigirator
25 September – Julia Vaconsin
28 September – Joeli Caparco of Joeli’s Kitchen
2 October – Jacqui Harding of Happymaking Designs
5 October – Michelle Miller of Fickle Knitter
9 October – Carol Feller of Stolen Stitches
12 October – Joanne Scrace of Not So Granny
16 October – Anniken Allis of Confessions of a YarnAddict
19 October – Mari Muinonen of MadeByMyself
24 October – Woolly Wormhead
30 October – Ann Kingstone
2 November – Ella Austin of Bombella
9 November – Jill Zielinski of Knitterella
14 November – Kate Oates of Tot Toppers
Petit Purls
Heather Kinne of Highland Handmades

Photos are copyright Katya Frankel from Boys’ Knits

4 thoughts on “Boys’ Knits

  1. I love your illustrations Ella!! I would be interested to see if my lovely 14 year old would wear these designs because the sizes do go up that far! I expect that it would have to be black or dark navy with a hood and what a joy to knit that would be! I look forward to seeing what you create for you lovely boy!

    • Thank you! I felt a bit nervous putting the illustrations up but I’d like to do more of it. I have to start somewhere!
      I think 14 is the largest size but there’s so much info on getting the fit right that you might be able to size them up a bit (or use a larger needle size?)
      I’m sure little Erik will get Denon and Ryker knit for him. I want Denon for me!

  2. Pingback: I’m an illustrator! | BomBella's Blog

Leave a Reply

